Posted by: Chelsea Novak | January 9, 2011

Givenchy – Le Prisme Collector Limited Edition

As I go through different phases of life my interests in beauty have evolved. In my teens… well, let’s not talk about my teens. There was a lot of white powder, black eyeliner and not much else. In my 20s, I developed a fascination with lipgloss. Colour, texture and endurance. Fun flights of fancy were the norm. Such is youth. Now in my 30s, my obsessions are a little different. Things I really took for granted, like skin tone, have become my area of focus.

A product I picked up on a whim last time I was in the USA is Givenchy’s Le Prisme pressed powder. A part of their 2010 Vintage Christmas collection this pink sparkling powder has been a fun little find.

Admittedly, I was drawn to it for the faux patent crocodile case that it comes in (as an aside, why don’t more beauty companies make truly beautiful pressed powder cases? It’s such an easy opportunity for glamour). However, the wonderful smelling powder within it is even better than the case. The finish is very soft and radiant. Apparently the powder is atomized (blown through a filter to give the different powder elements regular size) to give it a great finish on your skin and to help it last.

And last it does. Using it in the morning, without a primer on clean skin, it’s still there at the end of the day. I could tell because it’s pretty sparkly, so it’s hard to miss. Also, in light of it’s serious shimmer density, it’s too intense for all over the face use (at least during the day in my opinion). It’s pretty perfect as a highlighter supplying a youthful glow, but not recommended as an all-over powder. Instead, concentrate it on the eyelids, cheekbones and (sparingly) forehead.

Givenchy also suggests using it on your décolleté (chest for those who don’t need to use French to talk about the more exciting parts of female anatomy). While putting the powder on places where people are known to look is good in principle, it also means you’re going to get sparkle all over your clothes, scarves and anyone you hug.

If your local purveyor of beauty items has any left in stock, check it out and pick it up. While it is intended for the holiday season, there’s no reason why you can’t sparkle in the long, dark winter months ahead.

HRH


Leave a comment

Categories