Posted by: Chelsea Novak | January 4, 2011

Chanel – Poudre Cristalline

There are many things that define beauty. In fact, ask 100 people what’s beautiful and you may get 100 different answers. When it comes to personal beauty, science and nature have told us that things like symmetry and colour are powerful attractors. You can learn tricks to make an a face appear more balanced and add colour to a pale face. One feature that I think is powerful in terms of personal beauty is good skin. It’s something that women and men around the world go to extreme lengths to achieve. Young looking skin, clear skin, glowing skin, spotless skin, bronzed skin – a lot of work goes into good skin.

It’s part of what got me into beauty. Or more accurately, not having good skin is what got me into it. Needing to learn how to make sub-par skin look like normal to good skin is why foundation is one of my strongest makeup skills (closely followed by eyeliner 🙂 ). You can get away with using cheap colours on your eyes and lips, save dough with drug store mascara but cheap, poorly matched/applied foundation you cannot get away with.

One product that I’ve recently discovered that helps those with not as good skin have good skin is Poudre Cristalline by Chanel. Looking for a replacement for the limited Poudre Douce in Almond that I’ve been using for the last little while (and cannot find anywhere, stupid limited edition) a very awesome makeup artist at the Chanel counter introduced me to the Poudre Cristalline. It’s a superfine transparent white powder. Intended as a finishing powder, it’s silica based, meaning it does a really good job at preventing shine. However, as the name might suggest to you, it’s all about how it reflects light. The wonderful makeup artist used a term, which I now only incorrectly remember as photovoltaic (not right), that he suggested refracted light in a flattering way. Sadly, I don’t remember the term he used, but what I can say is that it does create a glow. Not a sparkly shimmer, but a glow. At at the same time, it smooths out the skin, both in texture and in colour. A soft focus-like glow and it effectively minimizes skin imperfections. Win.

I’ve been pretty pleased with it since I got it (and got the last container of it in Toronto at that time). The only complaint I really have is that it’s messy. Loose powder is generally a messy affair, but this one takes the cake. The poof that it comes with collects more powder than needed, so sometimes I just use a large powder brush instead. Also, traveling with it messy. Very messy. Such is applying makeup with loose powder.

As someone who has spend much of her life perfecting the art of perfect skin without a perfect canvas, this powder is a powerful tool. I very highly recommend it.

HRH

Responses

  1. Good day! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha
    plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m
    having problems finding one? Thanks a lot!


Leave a Reply

Categories

