Posted by: Chelsea Novak | January 17, 2010

Be the water

Oh poor blog. For many years you were my platform for self-expression. In the early days of blogging, before everything became thematic and focused, we had so much fun. The insights and insecurities were so easy to express, mostly because not many people were watching I suppose.

Twitter hasn’t helped either. Blogging about a single thought or event seems wrong now. And learning how to concentrate an experience into 140 characters put a filter on my writing. Maybe I needed that. Maybe now that self-publishing is the success I’ve always hoped it would be, it’s a good time to be the spectator instead of the spectacle.

It’s all of that and life is busy. Very awesome, but very busy. When I started working at the hospital, my blogging changed because I couldn’t write about what I experienced at work. It was six years full of intense experiences but not always my experiences to tell. Now with Mozilla, I’m freely able to blog about my work and how it’s evolving and you can expect an increase in that kind of content on my Mozilla blog.

But this personal blog I’m not sure what to do with. I still love my beauty products. And I think I’ll come back to writing about them eventually. I just deleted almost 40 unwritten draft reviews. Products I’ve had in hand to write about since 2008. Some of them I enjoyed, some were duds. Right now my heart isn’t in writing about them. There are beauty blogs a go-go in the world now, so many places to learn about what’s new and working. I just don’t feel like doing it now.

As for all the personal content, of course I’m still working through how to live my life. I suspect I’ll be learning those lessons until the day I die. But I don’t feel like sharing that now either. So that doesn’t leave me with a lot to write about, which may mean that I’ll write more. Funny how that works.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

