Posted by: Chelsea Novak | June 15, 2009

The road just rolls out behind me

Let the silence be broken. No more innuendo about change.  Hopefully, no more insomnia. I can now share my exciting news. I have been hired by the Mozilla Foundation as their new engagement and fundraising manager. To say that I’m excited is an understatement.

I will be joining the Foundation team, led by Mark Surman, in early July. At the same time, I will start filling up a new blog with plans for getting people engaged with the Foundation and, of course, promoting the open web.

Beyond the opportunity to bring my ideas to something so innovative and the chance to work with some crazy-smart people, I’m looking forward to being in an environment where I’m encouraged to be open about how I develop ideas and implement projects. I could spend days talking about the amazing things I’ve learned and experienced at SickKids, but one thing that was always been a challenge for me was not being able to share it here.

I’ve given notice at SickKids Foundation, where I was the Digital Communications Manager. It’s been an eventful six years at SickKids without a doubt. I’ve met some tremendous people, learned so much  and, hopefully, made a difference.  I know I was never saving lives, but, in my own way, I know I was helping. While I was with SickKids Foundation specifically for just over a year, my colleagues there have been some of the most amazing people I’ve had the honour to work with.

I have two weeks left and then a bit of time off before I start at MoFo.  I’ve got this mix of crazy “I cannot wait to get started” anticipation, occasional waves of “OMG, this is big” anxiety and growing “I have to let this go” acceptance with the change. It all seems to balance out to a very happy me in the end.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Gimme Sympathy” by Metric

HRH

Responses

  1. Welcome, Chelsea. I’m so excited to have you joining the Mozilla family, and think we’re really fortunate to have your energy and smarts working with us to help improve the web for everyone. Doubly so because you’ll be helping even more people experience how wonderful it can be to participate in something like Mozilla, and really change the world.

    You should definitely be proud of the work you did at SKF, and I can’t wait to see what you’ll do here with us.

  2. We’re happy to welcome you into the Mozilla Community! I’m sure you’ll love it 🙂

  3. Congrats and welcome aboard! Really looking forward to working with you…

    John

  4. Welcome to Mozilla!

  5. 🙂

    Looking forward to being able to read about everything that you’re doing. Don’t forget to file a bug to get your new blog on planet.mozilla.org!

  6. Congratulations and welcome to the mad mildly insane endlessly fascinating world of Mozilla!

  7. Congratulations and welcome!


Leave a Reply

Categories

