Posted by: Chelsea Novak | February 9, 2009

Like riding a bike, but with snow… and skis

The last time I went skiing, I was 18-years-old. It was a New Year’s Eve trip with some of my classmates from highschool. It was at Mount St. Anne in La Belle Provence. It was a lot of fun, but it was the last time that I skied.

I love skiing. It has always been the best part of winter. Growing up I had lots of opportunities to ski some great mountains here in North America, thanks to my ski-loving family. Considering that we lived at least four hours away from a respectable ski hill, we did really well. Ski trips were always my favourite family trips too.

So it was a mystery to me why, after such positive experiences as a kid and teen that I hung up my skis for 14 years. Skiing isn’t a cheap sport, so maybe that had something to do with it. Even stranger is that M had a similar upbringing that was ski-intensive and he too hadn’t skied since his last year of highschool.

Last weekend we both remedied this by spending three days at Blue Mountain with our dear friends. Hills were skied, ski lifts were ridden, great company was shared and I found that skiing is like riding a bike; you never really forget how. And when you get back into it, you remember how great it is to be outside, to carve your way through the snow and how fantastically fun it is.

Welcome back to my world skiing. I was silly to have forgotten you for so long.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

