Posted by: Chelsea Novak | July 3, 2008

DiorShow Blackout Mascara

Dawn and I had a happenstancial meeting at the Eaton Centre during lunch this week that, unsurprisingly, ended in a visit to Sephora. That place is always more fun with your friends. While there I realized that it had been awhile since I’d been in there which meant that it had also been awhile since I replenished my mascara supply.

Mascara is a gateway makeup. You start with something innocuous like Great Lash Mascara, one of the beauty world’s best bang-for-your-buck items. And as great and cheap as it is, there comes a point where you just need something more.

So you walk into a beauty store and view the wall of great eye-enhancing options. I’ve tried out my share of mascaras. I will always hold a special place in my heart for Lancome and the love I will always have for Flextencils and Hypnose. I’ve flirted with items from Stila, been underwhelmed by Shu Umerea and even dabbled in some Benefit BadGal Blue. All good steps towards my latest mascara love.

So with much pride I share with you DiorShow Blackout Mascara. Admittedly I wasn’t blown away by it’s original recipe, but this kohl-based, blackest-of-blacks version is awesome in a tube. I get lashes so long, full and dark and it’s almost inappropriate. Blackout is my new normal. So much so that I find it hard to go back to anything else. I think the only place I can go from here is false eyelashes.

I used it on a client recently who was going for a very dramatic Bridget Bardot look and I don’t think any other mascara would have been up to the job of such deep, dark, sultriness. Needless to say, this one gets a huge endorsement from me.

Awesome in a tube.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

