Posted by: Chelsea Novak | June 10, 2008

Fond memories

It seems there’s a kind of closure on the whole HNIC theme song situation. CTV has purchased the perpetual rights to the theme. And as a private broadcaster, they have the means to. If the CBC had ponied up $2.5 million for the rights to the song, many a Canadian tax payer would have their hands up in ire. I mean there are a LOT of things that the CBC pays $2.5 million for that I raise an eyebrow at, but I digress. Maybe that amount isn’t outlandish, but that’s the argument I’m using to help keep my chin up about it all.

I have mixed feelings about this. I’m glad the song will live on. I’m glad that the composer is being well paid for a song that left an indelible mark on the country. I just feel like it has a little less magic to it now. As Graeme said so well, HNIC was the whole package. The theme was part of the format that everyone under 40 grew up with. It was part of what made the experience of crawling out of hibernation in the dead of winter to watch the Leaf’s get smoked (even though you always hoped they’d prevail) with your friends. I think everyone has had moment where they’ve sung along to it or perhaps done a little dancing in their seat. And yes, we can still do that… just not on Saturdays. Just without Ron and Don. Without the cheesy HNIC logo. Without my favourite part “Hello Canada and hockey fans in the United States and Newfoundland”. The part that speaks to the history of HNIC and the CBC. Two legacies in a young country generally short on legacies.

I kind of feel like I felt when I found out that Santa wasn’t real. Christmas was still fun, I still got to make cookies, get presents and decorate the tree, but the magic was gone. I still celebtrate Christmas to this day, just like I’ll still watch hockey. But in both cases, there is, and will be, a tiny part of my heart that will ache for what was.

HRH

Responses

  1. I think the most upsetting part of the whole thing is that both sides, who have done pretty well over the years by the theme, could let the relationship deteriorate to the point where it was offered up for sale to a rival. CTV looks at is a big win for itself, but its really not going to be the same on their network and TSN. it just seems a spiteful, petty way to end things.


Leave a Reply

Categories

