Posted by: Chelsea Novak | April 18, 2008

Na na na na na na na na

Any sensible person whose joints are in a generally bad way would live their life according to their limitations. Let’s be frank, it’s not like your joints actually get better as you age. With this knowledge in hand, I may be close to admitting that nine hours of dance and pilates a week may be too much. The trouble is, torturous as some of it is, it’s also really, really fun.

Is it right that I come home from the gym each night and promptly put my knees on ice? Or that I’m wearing wrist supports almost daily? Or that the only way I can talk about how much my ass hurts from squats and legs lifts is to change the words to Pink Floyd’s Comfortably Numb to “I have an uncomfortable bum?”

I know there will come a point where my body will intervene and tell me that I’m getting too old for this kind of thing. When my knees will finally blow out, my back will seize for days at a time and I will have to admit that there is a disparity between what I see myself being able to do in my head and what is possible within the laws of physics.

Until that point, I’m covering my ears and not listening. Fill the freezer full of ice, help my stretch out my hamstrings and keep the Advil handy.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Uncomfortable Bum” By Pink Floyd/Chelsea

HRH

Responses

  1. Oh, I don’t know, I’ve been icing knees and shins regularly for years. My physiotherapist just said to use the pain as a guide, stop when it hurts too much, go when it doesn’t. It’s great that you’re having fun with it all – I’m getting a bit bored with the same old gym routine myself.


Leave a Reply

Categories

