Posted by: Chelsea Novak | January 2, 2008

Armed and ready against the inevitable

Here we are in yet another new year. A wonderful holiday passed and I was very much spoiled by all my loved ones with affection and presents. It was busy, but it was one of the nicest holidays I’ve ever had. And I got a piano! And that makes me quite happy.

With the changing of the calendar, I had a chance to look back at my goals for last year and I was pleased to see that I actually got some things done. I had this To Do list in progress that always seemed to have the same eight things on it. There are only two items on it held over from last year: Look through the boxes in the garage and find a wire basket for the towels in the bathroom. Sure there are 11 items on the list now, but nine of them are new. It’s kind of lame as accomplishments go, but I feel good about it.

I also have this list of hobbies and interests that I’ve been working on for years. It’s a list of things that I find fun, interesting or have a passion for. And I am very happy to report that in the twelve categories of interests, I made progress in nine. Even nerdier is that I’ve set goals for this year too, like a Nitrox course for SCUBA, getting back into painting and learning to decorate cakes for real. It’s always the cake decorating that falls off the list first…

I’m trying to keep happiness sustained as well as I can. I felt the first pangs of depression yesterday and I didn’t like it. Not one bit. I shook it off, but I was coming from a really mentally strong place. What happens when I get tired and stressed? Crossing fingers and thinking positive.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

