Posted by: Chelsea Novak | August 17, 2007

Dietary shame

As I sit here, looking at the last remaining Toostie Roll Midgee, having inhaled most of the bag in the last 30 minutes, I can finally see that my dietary choices in the last two weeks have been atrocious.

I don’t know how it happened, but summer got busy. Like I look at my calendar and just shake my head. I suppose I could have found some time to actually go out and buy proper food, but there wouldn’t have been time to eat it before it went bad.

So I’ve been making due and in the process doing things like having a bag of chips and a diet ginger ale for lunch or Cheerios for dinner. Most of the time I’m not going over my dietary limits and I’m exercising a great deal so I’m not too worried about weight gain, but I’m failing like a dyslexic in a spelling bee when it comes to nutrition.

Things got so silly that last week, while I was out running errands at lunch, I ate McDonald’s. I work in a very intimate and open concept office, so I made sure to eat my McNuggets and fries outside so as not to bring the smell into the office. I don’t know what they put into the food, but it triggers something in my reptilian brain and I am overcome with an all consuming need to binge on McDonald’s. And I know it’s not just me, so I had to spare my colleagues. I ate my lunch standing in front of the hospital like a smoker banished to the sidewalk.

When I got back to the office, for a laugh, I looked up the nutritional information for what I’d eaten, thanked the powers that be that the particular McDonald’s I’d patronized didn’t have milkshake, there by preventing me from doubling the calories and carbs of just the food (I’m not even kidding about this). And then I felt sick.

Thankfully after this weekend, things become a touch more regular and I’ll have the time to put together meals.

HRH

Responses

  1. I think you’re doing a great job of rolling with the punches here. I mean, no, a meal of Tootsie Rolls and a bottle diet ginger ale isn’t a nutritional power house, obviously. But not letting it drive you crazy mentally is a good thing. It’s better to eat the tootsie rolls than to not eat at all. And we’ve all had days where it was just too much effort to even think about making a sandwich or bowl of cereal. =) Not beating yourself up about it shows a much healthier relationship with food than a lot of people have. So, um, go you? =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

