Posted by: Chelsea Novak | June 16, 2007

The apple doesn’t fall far

As M and I were finishing dinner this evening, the bus stop across the street from our house was besieged by a gaggle of girls. All dolled up and waiting for the bus to take them somewhere. And they were singing.

Okay, singing is being generous. They were shouting Motown hits like Lean On Me and Ain’t No Mountian High Enough. They were very, very annoying and they were interrupting our enjoyment of Restaurant Makeover.

I was doing a whole lot of eye rolling and M said to me “You know, you were a young girl once too. You did things like that.”

I was offended and appalled.

“I’ve never done crap like that in the middle of the city,” totally forgetting the musical adventures Kari and Wendy and I had all over the streets of Prague. “I would maybe do something like that at camp.”

M replied “They kind of look like they could be part of a camp.”

“Yeah, an idiot camp,” I shot back, thinking, “Wow, I sounded a lot like my father there.

To which M said “It’s funny how much you sound like your father sometimes.”

I am proud to say that my willingness to suffer fools comes pretty strongly from the paternal side. Thanks for that, and everything else, two days in advance.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

