Posted by: Chelsea Novak | May 27, 2007

Tea Time

Today was a nice day. I did something bold and instead of staying home to do dishes or go OCD on the house I joined M and Mike downtown for some Starbucks and meandering. At one point Mike had to go home and M went off to get his hair cut. This meant that I got to spend a lot of time puttering around Queen West.

When M and I reunited and were heading back to the car we passed this great little tea shop called Tealish. M and I have always shared a love of tea. I hate coffee and M appreciates any opportunity to explore the fineries of life, so tea has always been something we’ve been interested in.

Back in Prague M would get really interesting loose leaf teas, while I would spend a lot of time in the local tea houses. He would have teas infused with whiskeys and bourbon while I was learning about chai and honey teas. My bridal shower last year was at the Royal York where I experienced High Tea for the first time. It was very awesome and I was really happy to be able go again a few weeks ago when we made it a work outing to go back again.

So M and I found this tea shop and spent a good half an hour smelling different blends of tea. We came out of there with four great blends. I got two types of chai; a yerba mate blend and a black tea blend. M got a vanilla green tea and we got a lady grey tea, since I thought it was wrong that all the black tea we have in the house is chai.

As we left we got two teas to go. M a chocolate yerba mate (as Kari will tell you, Mate will mess you up) and I got an iced roobios. It was a tea-teacular afternoon. It’s great to be living in a city like this where I can have access to so many interesting things.

HRH

Responses

  1. i never like yerba mate, rooibos is OK. i love green tea and strong black tea. my fav cup would be gunpowder green tea and http://www.teacuppa.com keemun black tea with milk and pink rose bud.

  2. Aah, you stole my punchline. I was prepping to post just that before I even got to the last paragraph.

    “Mate will mess you up!”

  3. lameness
    when you say tea you mean pot right?


Leave a Reply

Categories

