Posted by: Chelsea Novak | May 21, 2007

Pushing my luck

It seems I’m doing that fixating thing again. This time it’s the new Rihanna song “Umbrella.” I hadn’t noticed that I’ve been listening to it non-stop until the video came on TV and M said we’d heard way too much of that song in the last four days and changed the channel. I couldn’t bring myself to protest as it would require admitting that I wanted to watch the video to admire Rihanna’s new hipster haircut.

Other than overplaying a new song, the long weekend was very full. WE had a lovely dinner with Graeme and Elisabeth on Friday (check out Graeme’s blog as it is brimming with nifty) and learned that there are few people in the world who can actually eat a steak almost the size of their own head. I planted my patio garden on Saturday with Gerber Daisies, Dahlias, Wave Petunias and peppers galore. I am pretty much ready train Zeus to kill squirrels now as all the bird feeder traffic is making the containers all to tempting. I also made a screen for the kitchen window and we had the gang over for some lamb goodness.

Saturday was extra fun when M mistook his finger for an onion resulting in some extreme makeover: finger edition. He just took a little off the top of his left index finger, and it’s healing nicely, but it was still kind of freaky. I’m not allowed to talk about what the removed bit of fingertip looks like cause it makes people queasy. I can only say I found it fascinating and maybe I should stop watching CSI.

Sunday was far less dramatic. I worked out at my new gym (lovely treadmills) and finally made it to see Hot Fuzz and laughed myself silly. Excellently good times.

Today was more sedate. Laundry, bird watching (I saw an Indigo Bunting and caught a glimpse of a Baltimore Oriole… and holy crap when did I start to find this stuff interesting?) and naps. Many naps. I’m capping off the holiday weekend with the 24 and Heroes finales tonight.

The only thing that would make this weekend more perfect would be if it was somehow extended for just another day, oh and if M had that little bit of his fingertip back.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Umbrella” by Rihanna & Jay Z

HRH

Responses

  1. To be fair, that steak was only 2/3 to 4/5 of my head. But then, I do have a pretty big head.


Leave a Reply

Categories

