Posted by: Chelsea Novak | May 8, 2007

A contagious addiction

It seems that I am not the only person with a new-found obsession with wasabi peas. The building I work in has two locations that sell this highly-addictive snack and in the last 24 hours there has been a run on them.

I decided to get a pack of them after lunch today. The lady at the sushi stand smiled at me as I bought a pack and said in heavily accented English “I have the same problem as you. I can’t stop eating them.” I responded back “At least they’ve got lots of fibre,” knowing full well that no amount of fibre was going to offset the calorie and sodium damage I was doing. Still I was having a bit of a day, so a salt overdose was in order.

As I was walking away from the sushi stand, a younger man said to me “You didn’t buy the last package, did you?” He had a look in his eyes that told me if I told him yes, I was going to be rolled for them right then and there. Public be damned. Luckily for me, there was still another package sitting beside the cash, so I said “No.” and quickly made my way back to my office, holding my wasabi peas close.

When I got back to my desk, a colleague came by a reported that the other wasabi pea selling location was completely sold out. Worse yet, they weren’t going to be getting more until later in the week! It could be cold turkey time for me.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Addicted to Love” by Robert Palmer

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

