Posted by: Chelsea Novak | April 26, 2007

Heaven, send me a stylist

There comes a time when a girl has to ask herself serious, life-affecting questions. Probing questions that reach down to the core of my being and expose the deepest, darkest, queries of my soul. Indeed, the time as come where I have to ask myself if it’s time to cut my hair.

Inspired by watching “The Search for the Next Doll” and spending a lot of time in dance class tossing my hair about, I was going to try to keep my hair really long. Sure it annoys the heck out of me, especially when I wake up in the middle of the night almost choking from having it twisted around my neck, but there’s also something delightfully girly and empowering about having it long and wild. I don’t think a mighty gust of wind would be nearly as fun without it. Also, I was hoping to have it really long for Tash & Chris’ wedding in September as a kind of insurance in case my back exercises don’t pay off like I’m hoping they will.

Thing is, it’s April, five months away from their wedding. A no doubt oppressively hot summer is knocking down the door and keeping it from looking like a flat, mangy mess is becoming increasingly labour intensive. It’s like I passed the threshold where I got get great hair with modest effort and now it’s all work with minimal reward. Unless someone has decided to add an extra hour into the day what I can fill with blow-outs and rollers, there’s no way I have the time to put in the work required. It’s just too long, too heavy and volume-less.

As much as I’m grousing, I know as soon as I cut it off I’m going to regret it, so I’m not sure what to do. The scary thing for me is that I’m not hugely motivated to do anything about it. I stood in front of the mirror today and thought about ways I could hide my hair in a bun for weeks on end. It’s like there are more important things in my life than my hair.

Seriously, what’s happening to me if I don’t have my vanity.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Makes Me Wonder” by Maroon 5

HRH

Responses

  1. I’m trying to picture you with short hair. Maybe you need to do some Photoshoppery to figure out what it might look like?

  2. Oh, I wouldn’t go short, short, just a lot less long. I’ve sworn off short hair for life since the last time my hair was really short. Large heads and little hair.. it’s just not pretty.

  3. As someone who is growing their hair for their own wedding I can actually relate to what you are going through. You may have noticed I wore a headband yesterday, I never do that.. but I can’t stand it long and look at girls short bobs and wish I had mine.. but I really know that on the big day I want my hair out of the way and tidy so I don’t fuss with it like my OCD nature usually makes me do. I will go for a trim and hope it makes it a little less annoying. Jenn O.

  4. It’s just hair. Really…

  5. It’s a pity my blog isn’t equipped with eye-roll emoticons.


Leave a Reply

Categories

