Posted by: Chelsea Novak | April 20, 2007

Every little thing

I’ve proven to myself time and time again that when there’s an opportunity to become neurotic about something, I will grab that brass ring, hold it tightly in my hand and do it. I’m always thinking about the implications of new things. Almost always assuming that the worst outcomes, planning for contingencies even before a new idea is fully formed. I can be more than a bit of a buzzkill with it.

This ability to imagine all the ways things can go wrong serves me very well professionally. It also means that there are canned goods in the house that we don’t use because I’m saving them for the apocalypse.

So the new thing that’s making my little brain work over time is facebook. I’ve been on it for almost six months, and it’s actually been 100 per cent positive, but the time I’ve wasted looking at a person’s profile from highschool or university pondering “Will they remember me? Did they even like me? Did I even like them?” and then I just say “Aw, fuck it! Just say ‘Hi!’ already.” and everything is fine.

It’s a great social networking tool and I’ve reconnected with so many people, but it’s also been strange because, in some cases, it’s brought me back to thinking about things that are long dead. There’s also the fact that facebook kind makes all the connections in your world visually explicit, further emphasizing how small the world can be. Even though I know I’ve tried to keep expanding mine, it seems to be getting smaller. So strange and maybe not bad.

You’d think that after being a blogger for almost five years that I would have already worked through these particular mental gymnastics. Seems I’ll take any chance I can get to be overwrought about something.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Hung up” by Madonna

HRH

Responses

  1. Oh my goodness Chelsea I’ve just read that Xanadu is meant to go to Broadway. Can it be true?

  2. Completely true. Are we going to see it next time you’re in North America?

  3. Bet yer bottom dollar we are! 🙂

  4. Perhaps you wouldn’t be so hung up on facebook if you hadn’t treated people with a shallow ego-driven disdain during university…

  5. If you’re going to insult me, please have the decency to use proper grammar.

  6. perhaps you wouldn’t be so cowardly as to hide behind that anonymous tag if you hadn’t just shown yourself to be a libelous, hateful person…just sayin’


Leave a Reply

Categories

