Posted by: Chelsea Novak | April 16, 2007

A series of good starts

I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised that as time passes I keep growing up. It just some days, the growth doesn’t seem gradual, it’s shocking and apparent. Take this past Friday. I started my first RRSP. Admittedly, this is something I’ve been intending to do for about eight years but I always talked myself out of doing it. I find all things banking and finance intimidating, but I also have to do all things on my own terms. Sure it may have been more prudent to get it all sorted sooner, but I’ve done it my way, which means a lot to me. So I’m saving for my future, saving for a house one day, feeling pretty in control of things.

And I’m not the only one in our house experiencing new things. M has started running with me. For those who don’t know my husband well, he is one of those loathable people who can eat anything and everything and not gain weight. He just has that kind of metabolism. I just don’t. I have to exercise at least 3 times a week and keep the dietary cheating to a minimum just to save off the fatness. I’m supposed to be losing weight right now and just can’t stop eating everything I shouldn’t be.

While he has the ability to burn calories by thinking big thoughts, I can walk up a flight of stairs and not get winded. And it’s one thing to look healthy and an entirely other thing to be healthy. So I was very happy when M took me up on my long standing offer to exercise with him. Just because he hasn’t had to exercise, it doesn’t mean that he hasn’t wanted to, on some level. We started yesterday by doing some running in intervals in the park. He did pretty well except for calling me a “sadist” at one point. Even more impressive than his first effort is the fact that he’s going to let me take him out running again!

In the course of two days we’ve become a married couple that jogs together and has retirement savings. I feel like I should do something reckless and immature just to keep everything in check.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “All grown up” by Elvis Costello

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

