Posted by: Chelsea Novak | January 6, 2007

Sclemeel, schlemazel, hasenfeffer incorporated.

I am currently making my way through my itunes library in preparation for M’s birthday party tomorrow night. A faux pas has generated a puninishment that involves me having to perform “Ice Ice Baby” in a karaoke bar. It will be gruesome, but I will pay my fine for being thoughtless. I guess it’s better punishment than having to shovel rocks.

Anyway, as I look over all the songs I like to think that I can sing (I cannot), I am listening to a truly wonderful CD lent to me by my colleague Jenn. A CD with 65 theme songs from television shows from the 70s and 80s.

Now I don’t want to suggest that my parents didn’t raise me with anything but the most care and attention, but the fact that I know almost all of these theme songs by heart and can remember a lot of the plot lines from the shows does make me wonder if I wasn’t, at least slightly, raised by television. (It astounds me that the theme song from “Taxi” still totally annoys me. I never got that show at ALL.)

Really I shouldn’t be singing the theme song from “WKRP in Cincinnati” with this much vigour. And have I become so starved for nostalgia that the “Miami Vice” theme song actually sounds good again?

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Believe it or not (The Greatest American Hero)” by John Scarbury

HRH

Responses

  1. baby, have you ever wondered, wondered whatever became of me…

    i was just playing 80’s trivial pursuit and astounding people with my knowledge of tv theme songs. what is this cd you speak of? i must have it!

    and totally disagree about the taxi thing – brilliant show, poignant theme song. we shall have to argue about this at some point in the future – we could do a whole mud wrestling thing right after your karaoke 🙂

  2. You wanna see those intros instead of just listening to them? Want to seem and hear those same intros in a myriad of different languages? Check out http://retrojunk.com/

    Enjoy,

    –G


Leave a Reply

Categories

