Posted by: Chelsea Novak | November 20, 2006

Kicking it old school

It seems that the sun has abandoned Ontario. I’m used to my sunny fall weekends to draw me out of my bed and pyjamas on the weekends, but when it’s grey, it’s so hard to not stay in, cook warm winter foods and wear copious amounts of flannel.

Indeed, this weekend I left the house only once to pick up the supplies I would need to make a hearty beef stew with butter biscuits baked on top, as well as the odds and sods required for a proper Sunday roast beef. Both first time cooking choices that came out splendidly I might add.

When we were packing for Prague and M’s half-brother texted me asking if I could bring over some of my PlayStation games (he is ten after all) and I decided that it would just be easier to take the whole PlayStation over and give it to him (since I never play it anymore), I made a fantastic discovery in the back of our TV cabinet. I found my very old, first generation NES. Back then I didn’t have the time to plug it in and give the old games a whirl, but yesterday provided me with an unprecedented amount of free time in which I could reminisce.

We plugged in the nofriendo at around noon and I don’t think it was actually turned off until just before midnight. Now this is nothing compared to the marathon sessions I would play when I was a kid, but I was none the less pleased. The only games I still have are Super Mario Brothers 1,2 & 3, Rad Racer, Bubble Bobble, the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles game, the Legend of Zelda and Link.

The Nintendo had been turned on for mere seconds and we had resorted back to the “remember to play fair” rotations from our youth. I was particularly blown away by how I really hadn’t forgotten many of the moves. It’s like there is a section of my brain that has all the moves from the Super Mario Brothers series, the Legend of Zelda and Bubble Bobble indelibly stamped on it’s grey mushy matter. It was insane. So insane that just like when I was 11-years-old, I couldn’t find the second labyrinth in Zelda. I could always find all the other ones, but the second was like a black void of “I totally can’t find it.” M eventually had to look it up for me online. I still got to the end of the sixth labyrinth at the end of the day yesterday.

Tash and Chris came over for dinner and were soon enthralled with the old games as well. Watching eachother play and cheering on almost became as fun as playing the games ourselves. I don’t usually save things, I’m the “holy crap, throw it out already” yin to M’s “everything is sentimental” yang, so I’m not sure what made me hold onto my NES for so long, but I’m truly happy that it did. I guess I’m mostly a huge creature of habit, so for me, the NES is what video games are. Sure it’s amazing to play things on an Xbox or a PSwhatver, but I don’t have the same attachment as I do to the NES that I spent more hours than I would like to admit playing. At the very least my parents can say they got their money’s worth.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Play my game” by The Donnas

Responses

  1. Not quite old school, but I bought a Nintendo64 two years ago simply because I had this ridiculous unquenchable desire to play Mario Cart. I have yet to regret my purchas (though my thesis supervisor might have something to say about it).

  2. sorry, mario kart.
    i forgot old school spelling.


Leave a Reply

Categories

