Posted by: Chelsea Novak | August 10, 2006

The dumbest show on TV

So last weekend M and I were enjoying the hospitality of my parents and enjoying their various satellite television systems. They have an American feed, so I enjoy watching TV there as it feels kind of like going on vacation without leaving your chair.

Last Saturday, we were perusing the stations on DirectTV. We love music videos so we try to see what’s happening on MTV proper and all of its spawn. Sadly there are very few actual music videos on the music stations these days. There’s an MTV competitor called Fuse that I’ve, on occasion, enjoyed watching, cause they’d play videos from time to time and play more rock than R&B. Yay for Fuse. So I head to Fuse in the guide and see a show called, and I’m not joking when I tell you this, “Pants-off, Dance-off

With a title like that I just had to see what the heck this show was.

What was it? Basically seemingly normal people apply to come onto the show and strip down to their underpants in front of a screen playing a music video of their choice. Viewers then spend the next week voting who was best and they become the champ. They get fame and some cash so they can actually have a monetary value for their pride. Thing is, it’s not all young, attractive people that typically people would want to see strip down to their skin. No, it’s the young, the old, the fat, the thin… Nature’s diversity in all her glory.

We managed to make it through one dancer performing to Robbie Williams’ “Rock DJ” (who, upon further research is actually the “Pants-off, Dance-off” all time champ “Masta Wong”, oh dear). I have to admit that I hid my face in my hands a couple of times like I was watching a horror film. It was, fantastically dumb, but it wasn’t the dumbness that made me scream and change the channel. No, it was the fact that the next dancer was an old man dancing to The Cure’s “Friday I’m in Love.” There was no possible way for my brain to process it so it had to go away. Far away.

“Pants-off, Dance-off” was pretty surreal. What put it in the “oh my god the world’s gone insane” category for me was that the whole thing appears to be hosted by Jodie Sweetin. You know her, the middle child from Full House that recently returned to semi-fame for getting over a nasty meth addiction. Hosting TV’s dumbest show is now her gig and I wasted seven minutes of my life watching it. How rude.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Celebrity Skin” by Hole

HRH

Responses

  1. Whoa. That’s all I can say.

    (Singin’ in the Rain was on tv the other night and I missed you!)

  2. Jodie Sweetin had a meth addiction?! Where did you go wrong, Bob Saget?

  3. I THINK ALSO JODIE SWEETIN MUST DANCE.

  4. I THINK JODIE SWEETIN MUST DANCE AS A CONTEST IN PANTS OFF CONTEST…


Leave a Reply

Categories

