Posted by: Chelsea Novak | May 9, 2006

Florally retarded

Why didn’t anyone tell me that there are hundreds of thousands of options for bridal bouquets. When my mother bought me a book about bridal flowers I thought she was just getting caught up in all the wedding hoopla, but no. It’s not an easy thing if you don’t know what you want and what you need.

I can garden and I can put plants together in a planter, but this is like a whole other universe that I have no experience in.

I’m fortunate that I have my Mother, Tash and Dawn to let me know when I’m putting flowers together that simply don’t belong. My florist is pretty forgiving too it seems when I call her with yet another insane floral combination. I get a lot of “Um… well…” and I think I’ve changed my mind at least 50 times. Terrible.

So much angst over something so disposable!

HRH

Responses

  1. Hi Chelsea! Sounds like you’ve got almost everything under control well in advance – wow. I totally sympathize about the flowers. I’m very sure that the approach I took isn’t right for everyone, but I thought you might like to hear about my experience (if anything just on principle to have more perspectives before you decide what you want to do… if not, well, just ignore this).

    My story: I knew (and still know) literally *nothing* about plants and flowers. I came to the conclusion pretty rapidly that I was not going to develop floral sense in time for my wedding, so I decided to choose a florist based on style – not necessarily one that demonstrated they could create arrangements that were *my* style, but one that obviously knew what ‘style’ was. Having chosen a florist, I brought in about a half-dozen magazine cut-outs of colours and shapes that I liked to give her a sense of my style, took a deep breath, and told her that I thought creative people did their best work when they had room to be creative and that she had free reign to create the bouquets. Being something of a control freak, this was difficult for me, but relinquishing control turned out to be an entirely positive experience. It saved me loads of time and anxiety, and the bouquets completely exceeded my expectations. Honestly, there’s no way I could’ve put together anything more perfect or more *me*, ironically. And I got so many compliments from the guests. Just to top it off the florist told me afterwards that everyone in the shop agreed it was the most fun wedding of the summer for them.

    So, while I’m sure your innate floral sense is much more developed than mine (title of blog entry notwithstanding :), I thought i’d send a friendly reminder that you don’t always have to do *all* the work yourself and that, sometimes at least, faith in a good florist is well rewarded [faith in a photographer maybe not so much, but 2 out of 3 ain’t bad; the cake was also perfect]. Good luck! I’m sure you’ll figure out what’s best for you. – Natasha.

  2. Thanks so much Natasha. It is really helpful to hear how it worked out for other people. I know I’m completely overthinking it and I just have to stand back from it and be me. Then it will all be right. 🙂

  3. As an Unbride, I wanna hear some examples of flowers that don’t go together…is that like, Bird of Paradise and Carnations?


Leave a Reply

Categories

