Posted by: Chelsea Novak | April 30, 2006

Sakura

Before I even noticed another week and weekend have rushed by. I guess it’s been busy, but I’ve been so caught up in enjoying spring that I hadn’t noticed.

Today I was finally able to see the cheery blossoms in High Park in bloom. I’ve been wanting to do this since I moved to Toronto. I’ve been slightly obsessed with cherry blossoms ever since I saw The Makioka Sisters in film school. One day I will walk through an orchard of cherry blossoms in Kyoto as they lose their petals.

I’ve been having trouble finding a sunscreen that doesn’t do bad things to my skin, so I’ve taken to walking with a parasol to give me a modicum of sun protection. It’s not ideal, but it works. A lot of the Japanese people in the park today gave me wry smiles when they saw it, but mostly I think people thought it was cute. I’m not burned so at least it was effective.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “The Grace” by Neverending White Lights

HRH

Responses

  1. Those are gorgeous photos! (The girl’s pretty cute, too! 😉 )


Leave a Reply

Categories

