Posted by: Chelsea Novak | April 20, 2006

No shocks here

I was checking out Conny‘s blog and the fact that there was a post that was mostly not in German caught my eye (and was a lot easier to read). It was all about your personal DNA. Not actually my DNA, but what makes up my personality. Of as much of my personality that can be gleaned from an online test.

Here’s what I learned: I am an Encouraging Creator.

  • Your imagination, confidence, willingness to explore, and appreciation of beauty make you a CREATOR. (I like the all caps. Say it with a booming voice)
  • You are independent, and you enjoy my self-sufficiency. (Though sometimes I isolate myself at the expense of it)
  • Defying convention, you are very innovative, and you have a vivid imagination. (Hrm… I have the imagination. I wouldn’t call myself much of an innovator, unless we’re talking about mixing lipgloss colours)
  • The look of things is important to you, and you have a keen eye for aesthetic beauty in multiple arenas. (TDY)
  • You have a strong interest in what is new and exciting—and that includes forging ahead with new ideas, not simply discovering what is already out there. (So long as I discover it on my own terms)
  • Your eagerness to seek new and varied experiences leads you into many different situations. (It’s been interesting thus far)
  • You’re not set on one way of doing things, and you are creative when it comes to finding novel solutions to complex problems. (Though I can’t say I’ve been tested so much)
  • You trust yourself to be innovative and resourceful. (I trust that I can do what needs to be done. How it’s done is secondary to me)
  • Your confidence allows you to take your general awareness and channel it into creativity. (Better than channeling it into evil)
  • Your independent streak allows you to make decisions efficiently and to trust your instincts (Or to walk boldly into disaster)
  • You prefer to have time to plan for things, feeling better with a schedule than with keeping plans up in the air until the last minute. (I like making plans. Plans are fun)
  • You are a fashion maven, up on trends, but distinct in your own style. You don’t follow trends, you set them. (Why thank you!)
  • Generally, you believe that you control your life, and that external forces only play a limited role in determining what happens to you. (Another way of thinking would be really depressing for me)
  • Your outgoing nature, understanding of others, and directness make you ENCOURAGING. (Again with the caps!)
  • You want others to do well for themselves, and you generally believe in their abilities. (As fun as it is the plan the demise of your loved ones…)
  • You often know what’s good for people because of your caring nature and your worldview. (Being right doesn’t hurt either :-))
  • When you care about someone, you don’t keep it to yourself: you are good at letting people know that you’re thinking of them. (If this was the Crysalids and we were all in Zee Land, people would know how I felt about them. Turns out we’re not mind readers and we’re all going to die at some point, best to make your feelings known)
  • Because you trust people, you take violations of that trust very seriously. (Duh)
  • You thrive in social situations, and even though you know who you like and who you don’t like, you can interact well with many different types of people. (Thrive or panic. I didn’t think they were synonyms)
  • You have a healthy respect for people who have earned what they have, and you strive to be similar to successful others. (Mostly just to see if success actually rubs off)
  • You are a loyal friend and a good listener (I hope so)
  • Your independent streak allows you to make decisions efficiently and to trust your instincts (And to panic when I’ve indenpendently thought myself in circles)

If you want to be different:

  • Sometimes, in the course of being encouraging, you can be a bit judgmental—this can make it more difficult for others to follow your advice.(Interesting)
  • While you are an expert at getting the most out of the world and taking advantage of many experiences, you might gain some insight by taking the time to be alone, reflect on things, or just observe the goings-on in the world. (Aside from the fact that I do that pretty much daily… good idea.)
  • Appreciate the earthly, practical elements of things—there is beauty in form as well. (Say what?)
  • While you are good at thinking abstractly, focusing on details a bit more may help you discover things about the world. (Hold up? I can think abstractly?)

If you also opt to do this test you get a personality chart that shows how much of a given trait you have out of a score of 100. John R and I spent a good amount of time this evening comparing scores. These are some of my more interesting scores:

Extroversion: 40
Empathy: 82
Trust in others: 98
Spontaneity: 32
Attention to style: 98
Aesthetic vs. Functional: 100 to aesthetic

Okay. I think that’s about all the introspection I can handle for this week.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

