Posted by: Chelsea Novak | March 31, 2006

Still got it

One of the side-effects of living in Canada again or the work that I do has been a generally inability and aversion to reading fiction. Most of the time I am pleased if I can find the will to read a magazine feature. I’m not sure why. For most of my life I’ve consumed books like breakfast, but in the last 2.5 years I think I’ve finished, maybe 10 books. It’s really strange.

Anyway, this evening I hopefully took a step towards turning that around. I read The Lovely Bones from front to back in one sitting. Proving to me that I can read and leaving me to wonder exactly why I’m not.

HRH

Responses

  1. Did you end up liking it? I’m still not sure that making it into a movie is a good idea.

    Dawn

  2. I really did like it actually. It was very well written and it was cool to have an omnipresent narrator that was truly omnipresent.

    There are a lot of cinematic elements to the book and knowing Peter Jackson’s films The Frighteners and Heavenly Creatures I think that he, if anyone, could pull it off.


Leave a Reply

Categories

