Posted by: Chelsea Novak | January 23, 2006

This is getting out of hand

Remember that New York Times article I was interviewed for last year? I thought that it ran and no one outside of my friends and family took much notice of it. Turns out that Gawker, the source for daily Manhattan media news and gossip, seriously doubted wether or not I actually exsist. I mean, I know I exsist. I’m right here.

Anyway, in the interest of clearing my name as it were and saving poor Park Slope Dyke from being hassled, I wrote them this little note:

Dear Gawker,

Friends just brought this Gawker article from December to my attention, and wow was it ever a laugh. I assure you I am completely real and that Chelsea Gay is very much my real name. It’s a tad unfortunate, but totally real.

I’ve been aware of the beyond amusing fact of what my name would mean to a New Yorker for some time. To be fair, I get mocked pretty consistently for it up here in Toronto. For years I have battled things like The Chelsea Gay Association for the first hit when Googling my name. Let’s not even talk about grade school.

Anyway, mystery solved. And now, with the existence of Park Slope Dyke, I have comfort in the knowledge that my name really could be worse.

Best,
Chelsea Gay
www.herhighnessness.com

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Say My Name” by Destiny’s Child

HRH

Responses

  1. With all due love and respect, that’s still pretty hilarious.

  2. Chelsea, someone should make a film about your life. (That’s one soundtrack I’d buy!) I’ll miss you having that name, though you might not!

  3. As the person who insisted on calling you Chelsea, before the Clintons and before Golden Pond, when I thought it was entirely original, and as the person who gave up a perfectly good surname for one that would become, (but was not at the time) the butt of jokes made by feeble-minded people everywhere, I do apologize for any pain your unique name has brought into your life.

    Maybe we shoulda gone with Gwendolyn after all……..

    :-)Mum

  4. I will always choose unique over ordinary. I think you did a fantastic job in naming me Mummy and don’t you dare apologize for it. People very rarely forget my name when they meet me and it made for some very funny stories in my life.

    Gwendolyn Gay… no one should do that to a child. 🙂

  5. Heh, heh. My name is Gwendolyn Gay.

    🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

