Posted by: Chelsea Novak | January 9, 2006

Random things

As a child I used to dance around my parents living room to George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue, all 14 minutes of it. There was an elaborate routine that I can still see in my head every time I hear the song. Classic Gershiwn was one of the first CDs we bought (after Beatles for Sale). I really am fortunate for having a family that would not only let me move furniture dance and around the house, but would also be kind enough to not insist upon watching.

Did you know that the last time I bought stationary for myself was nine years ago when I was in studying art history in Italy? It was the marble textured type of paper that they make in Venice and Florence. It was blue, green and lovely. But I haven’t had to buy any since because wonderful people keep buying me stationary. And not just plain old stationary, but stationary that is completely perfect for me. Cards with stylized little fashionistas, art as make-up, cats, flowers… all lovely. I largely have Kari and Wendy to thank for this. I also have to thank them for keeping me well stocked in good reading.

A woman at the gym asked me what kind of face wash I was using and it resulted in me giving her a 10 minute skin care/cosmetics consult. A middle aged asian woman I’d never met before. Things like this happen to me a lot and I have no idea why. I suppose it appeals to my ego, that people think that I look like I know what I’m doing. I guess looking like you know what you’re doing is sometimes 60 per cent of actually doing it.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Let Go” by Frou Frou

HRH

Responses

  1. By coincidence I was listening to “The Essential George Gershwin” as I read that post.

    No dancing though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

