Posted by: Chelsea Novak | December 31, 2005

Best Prom-posal Ever

I was already on my way to having had a wonderful holiday. My time spent in Kingston was filled with the pleasant company of my family, eventual peace amongst five cats and many days spent watching movies in front of my father’s new 52 inch plasma TV. If I didn’t want a TiVo before… My goodness do I want one now. But I digress.

The big news from the break happened when M and I took a much needed vacation to New York City. M suggested this trip back in November. Thanks to the generosity of friends and family we were able to fly down on frequent flyer miles, stay in a lovely hotel for almost nothing and live a little beyond our present means without all the pesky guilt and regret. For a long time I’d thought that this was just another bit of proof that we have the most amazing friends and family in the world (and we do) but it turned out that there was a hidden agenda.

I’d decided to let go my obsessive-compulsive self and let M organize the trip. He knows NYC much better than I do, the trip was his idea and I actually found myself enjoying the idea of just packing a bag, showing up and letting someone else worry about the details. Turns out it was the best plan.

We got to New York on Wednesday afternoon. M suggested that we head down to the village. It was a beautiful day, mild and sunny. We made our way Washington Square Park, a place near and dear to our hearts as I think we’ve watched When Harry Met Sally about a zillion times together. The last time we’d been there the triumphal arch was under reconstruction so I’d never seen it in all it’s glory. It was really beautiful. The afternoon sun cast a warm glow over the park. I was really happy and relaxed.

M walked me over to the side of the arch and stopped. He turned to me and said “Now I can tell you the real reason why we’re here. It’s time for you to stop being my girlfriend,” as he got down on one knee and pulled out a small wooden box.

Clone High fans will appreciate that as M asked me to marry him he said “I know this isn’t a fancy prom-posal, but will you marry me?” I responded, through tears of joy, with “Yes! This is the best prom-posal ever!”

I remember feeling so many good emotions at the same time that a part of my brain must have broken. A lot of it is one big happy blur. I know it took me a day or so before I could really remember everything that happened. Even still I find I remember that I am engaged to marry someone so perfect for me and I get this big silly smile on my face.

I think that M and I were hugging and crying tears of joy for a long time before I even remembered to look at what was in the small wooden box. What was in it was too awesome for words. A sapphire the colour of the sky on a perfect day set in white gold. So blue and sparkly. And like that I was engaged to marry my best friend in the world.

And that was just the start of the most perfect 4 days. After a quiet late lunch and sending out a volley of text messages to let everyone in on the plan (read: almost everyone I know) know that it had gone well we went to see the hilarious Star Wars one-man show off Broadway. What better way to top off a day of great emotions with 90 minutes of laughter.

The next day involved walks through beautiful New York City in the rain, a serendipitous viewing of an exhibition of a collection of works of art from the time of Bohemian kings Karel IV, Vaclav IV and Sigismund at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, walks through the east side of Central Park and the Central Park Zoo (had to get a zoo in there to make it perfect for M). That night we enjoyed some delicious sushi and followed by ice skating at Bryant Park under the NYC lights.

Yesterday started with shopping at Sak’s Fifth Avenue, something I have longed to do for more than half my life, and yes, it lived up to my expectations. Then we met up with some family friends for lunch on the upper west side and experienced the first re-telling of our engagement. After that it was a walk down the west side of Central Park, a little more shopping on 5th Avenue, topped off by dinner at a great restaurant in the village called Po.

We’re home now. Happy and exhausted. I’m engaged and I feel no fear or anxiety about it. Just the overwhelming knowledge that this is the right thing and so much excitement about being able to plan a fun celebration of my relationship with M. I also feel so honoured to be with someone so thoughtful and wonderful that would put together a proposal and trip like this.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Aint That A Kick In The Head” by Dean Martin

HRH

Responses

  1. EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

    Oh my god, congratulations! I want to call you but I’m worried you’re still asleep so I’ll wait a bit. Beautiful ring, too! 🙂

  2. Congratulations, you two!

    I’ve told you a million times that you two are the perfect couple… I’m so glad you will have the chance to celebrate it “officially”! 🙂 YAY!

  3. Congratulations — what a perfect proposal. What a wonderful way to start the new year!

  4. Hooray!

  5. *squeals!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!*

    YAY!!!

    Oh, yay.

    Re-yay.

    Super re-yay!!!

    Congratulations, you two!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  6. Very wonderful!!! Congrats and Happy New Year!!

  7. congratulations : )

  8. Despite the fact that I had to learn this info by READING IT ON YOUR BLOG, I could not be happier for both of you, my dear lovely ecstatic friends. I read this on New Year’s Day, so your engagement is officially the biggest news of 2006. Yay!
    Love love love
    Julie

  9. Woo Hoo! Congrats and felicitations! And the Clone High reference was not lost on me!

  10. Congratulations to you both….couldn’t be happier for you! Awesome awesome news to start off the new year.

  11. So happy for you Chelsea, I had a little feeling that it was going happen! You two are the cutest couple! Jenn O.

  12. Congratulations, Chelsea! Klaus and I are very happy for you and Matt. What a terrific way to end 2005 and ring in 2006!

  13. Wow, congrats you guys!

    -Soapy

  14. In related news, The Arcade Fire is apparently quite over-rated.

    (Yay!)

  15. There. Happy now, Shaver?

    Just kidding. It was getting a little ridiculous that it was taking me so long to blog about it. Sorry about that.

  16. Just found out, forgive my tardiness, hopefully if i get back into the city, i won’t get so behind on such good news. My heart is full of cheesy gladness for you both, imagining that NYC street scene. I can’t wait to cry my ass off at your beautiful wedding!

  17. Congrats guys! It’s about time this happened… and nice job on the prom-posal, Matt!

  18. Congratulations!
    We’re so happy for you!
    Sounds like M did it perfectly so you didn’t have to tell him “No, do it again!”

    We know this is the right thing for you two. Remeber to enjoy all the attention and whoohooing!

    The big part is over, the rest is just details…

    Cheers,
    Blake & Kirsten


Leave a Reply

Categories

