Posted by: Chelsea Novak | December 7, 2005

Pain in the neck

I woke up on Sunday with an unwelcome and familiar pain. The area between my left shoulder blade and my spine was a sharp, evil knot of pain. Much like the pain I’d felt last winter when I took a tumble down my front steps. The thing is, I don’t remember falling down the steps and knocking the wind out of myself in my sleep on Saturday night. As such, the pain was quite a mystery. And quite painful, as pain usually is.

Having learned my lesson that back pain doesn’t go away if you ignore it I called my physiotherapist first thing Monday morning and by the end of the day I was at his office being contorted and questioned, as we both agreed it’s basically impossible to develop scar tissue like I had before overnight.

And I hadn’t. In fact, I’d found an entirely new and exciting way to feel pain in the very same spot. One of my discs (disks?), where my the part of my spine that’s considered my neck meets the part of my spine that’s considered my upper back, is a bit out of whack. Some of it is stress, some of it is (gasp!) posture (but only when I’m seated) and some of it is sleeping in positions I know I shouldn’t sleep in (it’s hard to control that when you’re asleep).

What’s good is that my prognosis is a fairly full recovery in a bit over a week. But I have to wonder if this is going to be something I’m contending with for the rest of my life. This is the third time in my life that I’ve gone through physio for my back. Every time has been for something different. I live a really healthy life, I take good care of myself and am in good shape, yet…

Thank goodness for benefits and physiotherapists that enjoy talking about Star Wars.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “The Bends” by Radiohead

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

