Posted by: Chelsea Novak | November 8, 2005

Can’t take my eyes off of you

I ran today. Not the way I run most days. It was different. No matter what I listened to on my ipod I couldn’t get “Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You” out of my head after someone put it there. And I kept thinking about that movie Conspiracy Theory and how Julia Roberts’ character would run away from the photo of her dead father every night on the treadmill in her livingroom.

With every step the chorus of “I love you baby and if it’s quite alright I need you baby to warm my lonely nights” spun round my head. The thing is, I wasn’t running away from anything today. I was running right at an image of myself.

The treadmills at my gym face out onto patio where I can see the towers of Toronto’s many hospitals and research labs. Usually I can just barely make out my silhouette in the reflection as the windows all face west. Now that daylight savings time is over, it’s pitch black by the time I get out of work and for the first time I could fully see my reflection. And I just ran and ran and ran towards the reflected me. Like if I managed to have perfect running form the person and reflection would merge.

I have no idea what this means, but I do know that I’m really tired now.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Can’t take my eyes off of you” the Lauyrn Hill version.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

