Posted by: Chelsea Novak | September 6, 2005

Ombra: Melkfett

It has always amazed me how I can have appallingly oily skin on my face, yet have the driest feet on earth. What ever is in charge of oil distribution in my brain needs to be given a harsh review.

I’ve spent many years looking for something that provides protection against cracking, but that also doesn’t have the consistency of lard. For me, it’s not just about how a product works, it’s also about how a product feels on my skin as it’s doing it’s job. As such, I’ve usually opted for milkier options in terms of foot care, as they can be really soothing. Long-lasting. Oh heavens no. But it feels nice for about 10 minutes.

Then I was given a tub of Melkfett. It’s thicker than most things I’ve tried before, yet it doesn’t cross the line between malleable product and being totally solid. It’s pretty close to the consistency of honey, but nowhere near as difficult to work with.

It seems that the active ingredients in this cream are petroleum jelly, vitamin E (pretty run of the mill there) and calendula extract. Calendula is part of the marigold family of flowers and is right up there on my list of wonderful scents. Like many other flowers, besides smelling pretty, it has medicinal properties. It’s often used to heal burns, soothe insect bites, speed healing and it can act as an anti-inflammatory.

Sadly, beauty products aren’t required to tell you how much of a given product they’ve got in a jar, so whether or not there’s enough calendula in there to activate all the healing/anti-inflammatory properties I cannot tell you. What I can tell you, is that using this on your feet before bed or before you’re about to sit with your feet up for an hour or two, will leave you with absurdly soft feet. And having feet that smell like flowers instead of, well… feet, is always a plus.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

