Posted by: Chelsea Novak | August 24, 2005

Graceless, we’ll lose the battle

Despite my efforts to thwart the passage of time, it seems inevitable that I will turn 29 in a month’s time. Let me correct that. I will be turning 29 for the first time. The first of many times.

I realize that not accepting age with grace kind of contravenes the whole cool and together vibe I’m trying to get going on here, but you know what? I’m really not looking forward to turning that-number-which-shall-not-be-named. So much so that for the first time in my life, I’m not super-excited about my birthday. Madness, I know. The bad number is over a year away, yet it taints everything. Very sad.

While I’m mourning my age, I certainly don’t want to suggest that plying me with gifts won’t lift my spirits. Because, my goodness, it will. The gift of staying 28 should be somewhere on that list, somewhere.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Ageless Beauty” by Stars

HRH

Update: With guidance from Mike, I have set up an alternate Ta-Da list account that duplicates my ta-da list account, but I’m making the user ID and password public. You can access it here:(ID: cagpublic pass: To avoid spammers the password is the colour of my cat, followed by his name with no spaces). I will not be checking this list from this point on.

Responses

  1. Ah, Chel. You echo my sentiments exactly. To compound the problem, I’m 29 on the 29th. Ick.

    When’s yours? (I should know, or at least look through your archives to figure it out, but I’m getting lazy in my old age…)

  2. You need to make that list publically and anonymously editable so that when people buy you things on it they can cross them off so that people like your friends and your boyfriends don’t end up buying you the exact. same. damned. thing. again.

    Also: it looks like Dawn and I have been shunned, which means that we won’t have a wedding to go to on your birthday. Lucky you! Lucky us!

  3. Your list doesn’t work. You and I must finally hang out (it’s been a year and a half, and that’s just stupid. You live around the corner.) So that we can go shopping and I can buy you a birthday gift.

  4. Tara: I’m a mere five days older than you. I become a year closer to death on the 24th.

    Mike: I’ve been testing the limits of Ta-Da lists and it seems that I can invite people to change the list, but it kills the whole concept of anonimity. Any suggestions?

    I would suggest that, if you are so generous and kind as to get me a birthday present, check with M to avoid duplication.

  5. Sorry, Carly! I had it open to try and change the settings. It should be working now.

  6. Still doesn’t work. It may be one of those things my computer refuses to display, just because it’s mean.

  7. Chel, I would *hate* to be the woman to deprive you of your drama, but I have to say 30 is not all that bad. It really isn’t. It’s totally liberating, in fact. LOVE 29, but don’t fear 30. And really, what’s death when we’ve got nanobots in the pipeline that can plump away our wrinkles, clean our arteries, and generally keep us fit and rarin’ to kick into our 130’s?


Leave a Reply

Categories

