Posted by: Chelsea Novak | August 12, 2005

It’s the little things that go first

I’ve attained a new and exciting level of fatigue. I can still get the really important things done, the things I get paid for, but it’s becoming clear that energy cannot be created, but instead creatively distributed.

It is entirely possible that that last sentence made no sense.

Anyway, usually when things get crazy I can run on automatic with the little things in life. I don’t even think about them, I just do them. Cleaning, cooking, getting from A to B, it just kind of happens without a great deal of effort. However the important things are taking so much energy that they’ve started to tap into my precious automatic reserves. You see, I’m losing the ability to do the little things, like dress myself.

This morning, something that usually takes me all of 5 minutes had me totally stumped. It wasn’t one of those “Oh my god I hate all my clothes and I have nothing to wear” things. It was more like me standing in front of my closet and wondering what clothes are. And not in some kind of extistential way, like what do clothes mean and how do they relate to the man on the street, yadda, yadda, yadda. More like what are these things and what am I supposed to do with them. It took me 45 minutes to get dressed today. 45!

Perhaps if I arrange for a caffeine drip I can trick my brain into thinking that I’m well rested and alert. I clearly still have the ability to engage in self-deception. All is not lost.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Survivor” by Destiny’s Child

HRH

Responses

  1. The caffeine fairies have blessed your Starbucks card. Be sure to stay away from those low-caf drinks, though! Nothing but empty calories without the zing-zowie!

    (written from the land of the blessed Starbucks DoubleShot)


Leave a Reply

Categories

