Posted by: Chelsea Novak | July 29, 2005

Was life better when I talked like Buffy Summers?

One of the things I’ve been spending my precious vacation time doing has been watching early episodes of Buffy, or as I like to call them, the good episodes of Buffy. Ahh blessed season two. Anyway, looking back at these old episodes that I watched in University I remembered something Mike said to me once “I’m not sure if you talk like Buffy or if Buffy talks like you.” Indeed, back in the day I had my own little lingo going on. Yes, I spoke like valley girl, but I spoke like a well educated one.

Total tangent: Early BtVS Angel is just the hottest thing in pants. I see him on screen and literally swoon. Swoon I say!

I’ve been indulging in a good bit of isolation these past few days. In my world, of course, isolation means lunch with Alasdair, multiple phone conversations with Mike and my mother, many hours of IM conversations and, you know, a lot of time with that guy I love and live with, M. Anyway, I’ve had a lot of me time. Watched a handful of really fantasically bad movies, read the Harry Potter book, walked a lot and had some quality time with Zeus.

My brain is becoming less like pudding and a lot more like my brain. It’s enabling me to get some clarity about the things that have been bothering me. I keep thinking about the things that I’m not. Now these aren’t necessarily things I want to me, but they’re absolutely things that I’m not. When I watch those old episodes of Buffy and think about the person I was the first time I watched them and what I thought my life was going to be like the differences are really interesting.

Anyway, the most important thing I’ve come to realize is that there are a lot of things I have to just stop thinking about. Just stop, chill and stop wasting the little time I have in each day stressing about things I really can’t change or control. I am going to endeavour to become zen. That you cannot control, you just need to let go of and try to find all the joy you can in life.

I think that approach will work for now and hopefully result in a less whiny me. I think we’d all enjoy that.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Virgin State of Mind” by K’s Choice

HRH

Responses

  1. Nothing like some time off to get some perspective on the important things in life.

    But more importantly, Yeah, early Boreanaz! What happened to him to make him puff out a few years later? It’s not like he drank too many root beer floats or anything, but his face changed!


Leave a Reply

Categories

