Posted by: Chelsea Novak | June 2, 2005

Without music, life would be a mistake

Last night was an unexpected treat. A classmate of M’s bought TSO tickets on a whim and generously invited M and I along. The TSO has this great program where people under the age of 29 can get decent seats for $10. It’s cheaper than a movie and a great experience.

I love classical music and miss playing it desperately. We used to see a lot of classical in Prague in these incredible venues. I was really spoiled. We’ve been back in Canada almost two years now and it seems only fitting that the first classical show we see is called “Czech Voices.”

The show was fantastic and has deepened my resolve to get my bass fixed up and get out there playing again.

If you’re interested in hearing some Czech symphonic, choral and operatic music, tune into CBC 2 at 8 p.m. tonight, as it will be broadcast live. I know I’m interested in seeing, and hearing more of the TSO. I’ve been planning to go for my birthday in September as they’ll be playing Symphonie fantastique by Berlioz on the very day I, ahem, celebrate getting older.

What I didn’t know about, until Adrienne and M graciously pointed out, was this upcoming show. The Star Wars Concert is happening on the 28th and 29th! M proved again that he is the perfect man and scored us great seats. I cannot express in words how awesome this show is going to be. Sure I have all 6 soundtracks on my ipod (did I just admit that?) but this… Again, there are no words.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Yoda and the Force” by John Williams

HRH

Responses

  1. You once told me that playing in the orchestra was the best high ever. Seem to me that’s worth shooting for again. (the “highs” can get few and far between sometimes) Why don’t you get an estimate for getting your double bass reconditioned? Perhaps I could be of help.

    Mum

  2. Further to the above- you made that comment about the “best high ever” BEFORE you met Matej.

    Just wanted to make that clear for all concerned. 🙂

    Mum

  3. Mummy, you rock in so many ways.


Leave a Reply

Categories

