Posted by: Chelsea Novak | May 26, 2005

New smaller waist…Same huge feet

I need shoes.

This doesn’t make me any different from women all over the world. Like plants need sunlight, women need shoes. I need shoes beyond that primal lust that females feel walking past a window of pretty foot oriented bedazzlements. I need shoes because I have worn most of my shoes into the ground. I even have a modest sum of money set aside for this new footwear. Something for summer, something professional-ish, but still fun for a 28-year-old… Something that isn’t totally ridiculous. A modest, yet stable heel… Something I can walk in, but that doesn’t look too sensible. Am I asking for too much?

Not really. In fact I’ve found this shoe a couple of times now. I’ve held it in my (huge) hand and held my breath as I approached a salesperson to ask for my size, closed my eyes as I wait for the inevitable bad news…”No. We don’t carry this shoe in your size.”… “11? Are you kidding me?”… “Does it say Saskwatch Shoes on the sign out front?”

There are a few negative things about being the size that I am and I have made peace with most of it. There are so many positives. That said, I will never be able to buy cute hats because of my enormous head. I will never be a ballerina because they don’t make ballet partners big enough to lift someone just shy of six feet tall. The same goes for swing dancing. But the shoe thing… It’s just irritating. I have a couple of female friends who are taller than I am, with smaller feet! (Though I guess we all achieve a karmic balance when shopping for pants)

There must be a place in the world where big footed women like myself can shop without sadness. Where strappy sandals and pretty pumps flow from the shoe shops like milk and honey. It’s a place where everyone is tall and they walk quickly. The streets are level and well maintained too.

Heaven in a place where every shoe is in stock, in your size and 50 per cent off.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “The Other Shoe” by Eels

HRH


Responses

  1. Chels –

    My wife Kristin has the same issue – she’s 6′-0″ and wears an 11.

    Eventually, she gave up trying to find what she wants at a brick & mortar retail, and buys all her shoes at Zappos.com.

    :>D

  2. There’s a Tall Girl shoe store just downstairs from my office. I have no idea if the shoes are any good in there, since based on the name I have two reasons why I am disqualified from entry, but if you haven’t been there, you should check it out! Lunch could be had whether you succeed or fail!

    As to the giant head thing … we’ve already determined it’s not THAT big. 🙂

  3. John, just because your head is a mere centimetre bigger than mine, it doesn’t disqualify me as big headed, it just makes you the biggest headed. 😉 I agree, we should get our big heads together for some lunch!

    Dave! Thank you for the site and much respect to Kristin! Sadly:

    Q: Do you ship to addresses outside the United States?
    A: We ship to all US States and Territories. Sorry, we do not ship internationally at this time.

    Blast! It looked so promising.

  4. hey Chelsea – long time no talk. I had to get in touch when I read your sad story!!! No woman should ever be put in that position! A little while ago, I pointed Dawn to a clothing boutique for tall women in Port Credit called Long Legs. See http://www.longlegs.ca/ Their online catalog doesn’t appear to have shoes but perhaps their store does or they could refer you? They have some links on their site and one of them is to http://www.tall.org/ Tall Clubs International where, no doubt, there are women who face the same difficulty. My sister has trouble finding shoes as well, she has size 10.5 feet but is probably about 9 inches shorter than you!!! What a backwards family we are…I’m tall with small feet!

    Bye for now, Joan.

  5. Oh well, just be thankful you’re not Peggy Hill!

    http://www.fox.com/kingofthehill/episodes/0421.htm

  6. Worst case scenario: you have your shoes shipped to me and I ship ’em right back out. And I really would manage a two day turnaround — I can easily ship stuff from work now, so there’d be no crazy delay because I put off trips to the post office.

  7. If there is one thing Chelsea can’t stand, it’s people that take forever to post things. 😉

  8. Dear Chelsea…
    I just so happened to come upon yur website and discovered that we have 3 things in common: 1) same name, 2)same height, and 3) big feet! I have the exact same problem when it comes to finding shoes for me. Problem is, I’m only 15! It makes shoe shopping a depressing chore. I never go with friends. It’s too humiliating.

    At least it’s great to know that there are others out there like me!!

    -Chellsee, ucchill@sbcglobal.net


Leave a comment

Categories