Posted by: Chelsea Novak | April 26, 2005

Mantras

I was going through my draft blog posts and I found this one. I list of things to live your life by. I know I didn’t write them, they must be from somewhere else (you’d think I would have made a note of that), but I know why I kept them. They all ring true for me… or at least ring true for the person I try to be every day.

  • There is more to moral behavior than mindlessly following rules.
  • Be especially sceptical of positive claims.
  • If you want your life to have some sort of meaning, it’s up to you to find it.
  • Search for what is true, even if it makes you uncomfortable.
  • Make the most of your life, as it’s probably the only one you’ll have.
  • It’s no good relying on some external power to change you; you must change yourself.
  • Just because something’s popular doesn’t mean it’s good.
  • If you must assume something, assume something easy to test.
  • Don’t believe things just because you want them to be true.
  • All beliefs should be open to question.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

