Posted by: Chelsea Novak | April 10, 2005

Just what I needed

I took a lengthy break from plotting my route to work tomorrow and napped. I napped the nap of the innocent. It was not sleep brought on by exhaustion or by illness, just a free afternoon and a very well placed sun beam. And I’m going to need all the rest I can get.

Having spent 2.5 weeks fighting el grande cold. I would say that I’m at about %85 health. However, during the course of the cold I was a good girl and I didn’t go to the gym (not like I would have been able to do much of anything). Now I am facing a 7 km bike ride to and from work for whoknowshow long this week (thank you TTC) and I’m hoping I will have the cardiovascular chops to pull it off.

I’m also wondering if, as a monthy TTC pass holder, having already paid the TTC for service for the days of the strike, if I am entitled for a refund? I bet you there is some small print somewhere in the monthy pass contract that frees them from having to return my money. Something to look into for sure…

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Bicycle race song” by Queen

HRH

Update: Mere moments after I posted this, the strike for tomorrow was called off. Plain old gym for me then.

Responses

  1. As far as I know, the last time the TTC was on strike, they reduced the cost of the following month’s Metropass to compensate riders for the lack of service.

    Technically speaking, though, I’m not sure they even needed to do that. After all, when you buy a Metropass, it’s not like you can get a refund if you choose not to use it … the pass itself doesn’t have some inherent “daily value” (nor a daily maximum TTC usage) so it would be pretty hard to judge what an adequate refund would be … interesting question, even if now moot. 🙂

  2. You’re missing the best part here. As soon as HH posted about this … strike over! Behold the powah!

  3. I would be fine with a refund in principle. I wouldn’t squabble about the amount. It’s more that they weren’t running so I couldn’t even use my pass if I wanted to.


Leave a Reply

Categories

