Posted by: Chelsea Novak | March 30, 2005

Insight into speed freaks

I’ve been a fan of Life brand cold medication for some time. When I was a student, and had even less money than I do now, colds were frequent so cheapo Life brand became a staple for me. Other cold medications are nowhere near as effective for my symptom relief, but there is a sad side effect. It makes me rather loopy (and lippy if you’re asking M, but you were asking me, so Shhhhh!).

From the moment the pseudoephedrine kicks in I’m on a wild ride. As Lynne and I were leaving a breakfast at The National Club this morning I looked up at one of the Bay Street bank towers and commented “I’m pretty sure I could scale that thing right now, but I bet you the cold medication would wear off half way up and I’d be awfully tired.” It’s a bit of a rollercoaster. I get really cold, I get really warm, my arms tingle, I start feeling like my periheral vision is expanding and I’m amazingly productive. I don’t start thinking I’m the lizard queen or anything, I just don’t feel quite normal. It’s not unpleasant, and pretty much everything is funny. Most importantly I don’t feel my cold symptoms. Any situation where you can trade a runny nose and sinus-congestion for feeling like Spiderman is a good one.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “The Fuel” by The Sneaker Pimps

HRH

Responses

  1. So what happened after you scaled the building?

  2. I’ve discovered that Life branded antihistamines give you a crazy dissociative/mildly hallucinogenic effect…evidently Shopper’s Drug Mart wants us to be stoned no matter what the symptoms of our congestion!

  3. See, they make me sleepy and thirsy.

    I do get the hallucinations, but more when I am sleeping (so I guess they’re dreams), but they make me want to sleep about 20 hours of the day.

    I am certainly not in any way productive.

    For the connaisseur with a bit more money to throw around for their cold fightin’ buzz, I heartily recommend the big green Drixoral as well!

    Mmm mmm good.


Leave a Reply

Categories

