Posted by: Chelsea Novak | February 22, 2005

I’ve fallen and I can’t get up

I’m working from home today. I wasn’t meant to be working from home today, but a fall on my front steps has kept me home to recouperate. I slipped on some ice on our steps. I caught one of the steps on my back, just below my shoulder blades (where the bra clasps connect), got the wind knocked out of me and am in some pain right now. I’ve never had the wind knocked out of me before, so that was rather terrifying. It doesn’t seem that I’ve cracked any ribs, but have just brusied the muscles around them. Really the Advil can kick in any time now.

I think I’m the most shaken by having the wind knocked out of me. I know it happens to people every day, but it’s really, really scary when you don’t know what’s happening. I was just spwraled on my front walkway, cars driving by, trying to breathe and making this scary wheezing noise. I was laying there trying to breathe and all I could think of was “I’m dying. I’m going to die. I have punctured a lung and I am bleeding out. When they do my autopsy the coroner will describe it as trauma to the back, causing a punture in the lung. She then exanguinated.” I watch altogther too much CSI.

I must have looked really terrifed because some city road workers pulled over and came up to see if I was okay and they were about to call me an ambulance when I started to regain the use of my lungs. They talked me through it and helped me calm down a bit and helped me back into the house. There are some very nice people in the world.

When you think about what’s happening, how a hit to your solar plexus will breifly paralyze your diaphragm, you have to wonder why your body would have a reaciton like that? I have a new respect for football players.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Thoughts of a Dying Atheist” by Muse

HRH

Responses

  1. Not fun at all. I hope you start feeling better soon.
    I used to get the wind knocked out of me fairly regularly (ok, not that regularly, but enough to get somewhat used to it) when I was riding (falling off a horse at speed can do that to you) and, once I got a little used to it (so I knew I wasn’t dying, for instance) found that the worst thing about it is that you can’t speak to reassure those around you that you’re ok, you’re not dying, or paralysed, or whatever. Maybe that’s a weird personality quirk with me, though — that my first thoughts when I hurt myself are to reassure others that I’m really ok!
    Hope the Advil kicks in soon…

  2. Hey Chel,
    One time I slide at school when I was much much younger. I sort of slipped off the bottom of the slide and landed on this wooden step thingy. Anyway, knocked the wind of me and all I can remember is my classmates laughing at me and me with no breath to respond and run away! I hope you feel better soon. You need to get some melt-away for those steps.
    Jenn O. 🙂

  3. Ouch!

    Oh dear, you seem to have a rocky relationship with your front steps and front walk. I guess some days fate just doesn’t want you to get anywhere in a hurry (or painlessly). I’ve been winded a lot getting crushed against the boards in hockey, so I’m familiar with that moment of panic. These days I get a similar rush from choking on beverages.

    Maybe not leaping out your front door each day in such an enthusiastic burst of eager, productive energy will help? I find that staggering slowly and reluctantly toward work in the morning can prevent accidents due to unseemly haste.

    Better luck tomorrow! (I’d offer a hug, but you’re all bruised and battered …)

    Laura

  4. i was hit in the solar plexus when young and it is worst than a back fall. the pain is more intense and it last longer oofff


Leave a Reply

Categories

