Posted by: Chelsea Novak | January 12, 2005

The kindness of strangers

I don’t know if anyone’s noticed, but it’s ridiculously slippery outside today. So slippery that I made to two steps away from my front walk and completely bailed. Feet left the ground an everything and I imagine my right side will be a lovely shade of purple tomorrow. So chic.

It took me a couple of minutes to get myself together and as I sat there on the cold, wet and slippery sidewalk, an SUV pulled up beside me and the driver called out to see if I was okay. I reported that I wasn’t hurt, though I think my face may have betrayed me a little as I stood up because the driver insisted upon driving me to the streetcar stop. How nice was that.

Then the whole trip into the downtown core the streetcar drviers were especially courteous, waiting a bit longer at the stops so people wouldn’t try to run on the ice to catch a car. As my car pulled up to University Ave. my driver called out the time and told everyone to have a great day.

People talk about how rude and unpleasant Torontonians are and I find it puzzling. I must be living in a different city ’cause nice things just keep on happening to me.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Come together” by The Beatles

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

