Posted by: Chelsea Novak | December 7, 2004

Winter Blows

I’ve never been one of those people who grumble about winter. I can find joy in all the seasons. However, this morning as I was fighting my way down what I will unaffectionately refer to as the University Avenue Wind Tunnel, I wavered in my love of cold weather.

I can deal with wet, I can even deal with cold, but clearly I’ve been spoiled by living in Toronto and Prague. In the Kingston days I knew what wind was. There, the wind will not only kick your ass, but it will make disparaging comments about your parentage on the way by. 23 years of wind worthy of Olympic sailing regattas built up a good tolerance in me. But this morning, man did I hate the wind. I didn’t sink so low as to actually shout at it, like I did that one time in Kingston (bad day), but grrr.

I don’t want to overstate things, but I was having a fucking spectacular hair day. I know I should have worn a hat, but I thought I could use my hood or my umbrella and be safe and dry should the rain get aggressive. Even after deploying my hood, there’s was still hair everywhere. I imagine it was quite the sight to see. A tall girl, carrying a purse and a pirate lunchbox being overcome by her own hair, walks into traffic in the midst of a wet snow storm. There’s a way to go if I’ve ever heard of one.

Okay, so I didn’t end up walking into traffic, but I was totally overwhelmed. Just when I’d managed to control my hair enough the direction of the wind would change and throw it all in front of my face, where it would then get stuck to my lip gloss. And man, that ticks me off.

I did make it to work and thanks to a comb it’s been a pretty good hair day. It’s just a shame that the mastery of coffiture I’d created had to be lost to the wind.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Blowin in the wind” by Joan Baez

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

