Posted by: Chelsea Novak | July 21, 2004

Perhaps a little overkill?

One of the absolute joys of the Internet era is this whole shopping thing. Where I notice that my black ink is ready to die on my colour printer so I order a refill from dell (perhaps not the most cost effective option, but still pretty reasonable, and I didn’t actually have to get up from my chair to purchase it… score). And the very next day it arrives in the mail.

I need this black ink cartridge, but part of me was like “Why couldn’t my Sephora order have come overnight too?” Alas…

So dell is speedy and easy to use, but you know what else? They indulge in overkill. My proof? Just look at the size of the box compared to the size of the product.



Maybe it’s because I’ve spent most of my professional life in the non-profit sector, where every penny counts, but I am in total awe of the fact that Dell doesn’t have a smaller box to send ink in. It’s like instead of packing the ink with those environmentally concious air pocket things, they should have just packed it with $5 bills.

HR

Responses

  1. It’s a time-honoured tradition, my dear lady.

    –shaver


Leave a Reply

Categories

