Posted by: Chelsea Novak | January 5, 2004

Getting It In Perspective: M2K4

We’re a jaded generation. Maybe from being raised by television, maybe from realizing that our great moments are just recycled bits from the past, I’m not sure. What I am sure of is that if something can impress my overloaded-by-images-of-space-battles-and-travel brain, then it’s earned a skepticism free look. A look of awe and wonder. It’s been a long time since I’ve had one of those. Looks of shock and horror a-plenty, but moments where I am assured of the brilliance of my fellow man and feel no guilt about my hopes for the future, those are so rare.

But here we are today, getting IMAX quality images of the surface of Mars. Yeah, that’s Mars the planet.



Picture: NASA/JPL

Can I just pause and say that I love that one of the rovers is named Opportunity. Head over to the NASA site and see what the Mer Rovers are finding. Prepare to get a little excited. (And do the trivia, purely because it’s fun…)

Need more proof of why NASA and related organizations are doing good things? Check out what Mike discovered. Nasa has been doing a lot for us lately.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Rocket Man” by Elton John.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

