Posted by: Chelsea Novak | November 12, 2003

Begun This Clone War Has

While I have to wait until May, 2005 for a truly geek-gasmic moment the good people at Cartoon Newtork and Lucasfilm have given raging Star Wars nerds, like myself, something to satiate our undying need to know something new about the Star Wars universe. It’s the Clone Wars Animated Series. 24 three-minute episodes created by Genndy Tartakovsky (famous for cartoons like Samurai Jack that chronicle some of the events of the Clone War (aka the three years between Attack of the Clones and Episode III).

The Cartoon Network is an American station. So I was dismayed when I learned that I wouldn’t be able to catch them on TV. So I forked over $20 USD to George Lucas and Co. for access to Hyperspace (HS), the premium content section of the Star Wars official web site. Getting the Clone Wars cartoon was my primary motivation for paying the fee, getting all the web-cam shots, behind the scenes diaries and other such spoiler-hound worthy stuff was a perk I hadn’t expected to be worth much of anything. When I learned that the cartoons would be available on the Cartoon Network and Star Wars Main Web sites a mere 24 hours after broadcast…for free…I was, again, a little dismayed. But I can see the cartoon 20 minutes after broadcast and the other HS stuff has been great so I’ll shut my yap about that. (Quick vent: It’s streaming vs. the downloadable format I was originally promised and man they’ve got some glitches to sort out as 2 out of 3 chapters have been screwed up. Okay, really done now.)

Anyway, the actual cartoon is neat. And well worth your viewing. If you’re lucky enough to get Cartoon network, the first 10 chapters are showing Monday through Friday at 8 p.m. until November 20. I’ve decided I’m going to communicate via Arc Trooper hand signals for the next little while just to get into the spirit of things.

Today’s sing-a-long song: “Always On My Mind” by Elvis Presley, Willie Nelson or The Pet Shop Boys (take your pick)

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

