Posted by: Chelsea Novak | June 22, 2003

Slow that sucker down

I wasn’t expecting to recieve the new Harry Potter book until next week. I was pretty sure when I’d ordered it from Amazon I hadn’t selected the “be a big keener and have the book delivered on Saturday” option. However, when I’d returned from shopping with my Mother today we came in the back door of the house and didn’t check the mailbox or front door. When my father came back from his dive at around 2:00 he found a package from Amazon sitting between our outer and inner font doors (two doors are a must when you live on the lake – bugs, bugs, bugs).

Aside Can I just mention how wonderful it is that I got this book for about $20 dollars, on the internet and it came right to my front door meaning I didn’t have to spend any time with children waiting for it. Score!/Aside

I was going to go on a bike ride with my Dad, hoping to enjoy my new bike seat, made just for girls (read: comfortable), but the weather wasn’t having it. So I decided to read. I started at about 2:30 p.m., then went out with my mother for more shopping between 4 and 5:30 and took a break for some very yummy pan fried sole and rice for dinner (take away another half hour).

I finished reading Harry Potter and The Order of The Phoenix at 10:30 Eastern Standard Time. Meaning I read a 766 page kids book in about 5 and a half hours. I know I’m a pretty fast reader, but I also know that I wasn’t exactly reading James Joyce or anything. Regardless, I’ve really got to get over my whole “have to know how it ends as soon as possible” thing.

It wasn’t bad. I enjoyed the book. Harry is, like, really pissed off for most of the book ( rightly so I think – the average teen is pissed off at the world anyway, imagine how much worse it would be if you were “the boy who lived”). The death is sad. It wasn’t who I’d expected it to be… of course at the end pretty much everyone’s life is in serious danger so my odds of being right weren’t so bad.

I’m reading 4 other books right now. I wonder which one I’ll finish tomorrow.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

