Posted by: Chelsea Novak | June 14, 2003

T minus 27 hours and counting

While I’m very excitied to be returning back to Canada and to everyone I love there, I’m realizing that leaving Prague is making me pretty sad at the same time. Some of the sadness stems from knowing that I’m not even going to see my beloved M for more than a month, let alone know when I’ll be able to make the move from Kingston to Toronto. Another part of it is all the wonderful friends I have here, some of whom are staying and others who are also making their way to the next phase of their lives. I’ve met some amazing people, had so much fun and learned so much about myself.

I know it’s going to sound strange but I’m going to miss walking in Prague. I walked everywhere here. I’m going to miss all the silly things I used to do to overcome homesickness. Heck, even the silly things I used to do here period. I’m going to miss our apartment and Saturday mornings when Zeus would sleep with us. I would look at my sleeping cat and sleeping man and look out the window at a row of Baroque facades and a park with a rose garden (all the graffitti was on our side of the street). It’s really been a beautiful place to live.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

