Posted by: Chelsea Novak | June 3, 2003

Where does the time go?

It’s a little scary that I’m going to be totally unemployed in 5 days. It’s good, in that I need to find something new and apply to some make-up schools, but it’s scary and strange. I’m not going to be doing anything when I get home. Scary, scary, scary. Though my father assures me that I’ll have myself doing 9 million things within a matter of weeks. So that’s a comfort as very few people can predict my actions as well as my father can.

I’m also having some control issues at work. I’m fairly young and I’ve been very involved with the organization that I’ve leaving. It’s really hard to let go, give up and say “not my pants.” I’m trying, really I am. It’s just hard. I want everything do be done right, and I know how to do it right. I pity the person I’ve been training for the last few weeks. He must be ready to kill me.

Leaving is going to be hard. I really should have left Prague in the winter, when it’s cold, grey and grumpy. Not at the beginning of summer when the city is just beyond beautiful. I’ve been spending all the spare time I have (which isn’t a lot) in beer gardens or outside in some of the city’s parks. I said two goodbyes yesterday. One to the wonderful Tania (who is joining the ranks of all my friends on the West Coast) and the second to my favourite student, Vera. While this woman is my mothers age, she really became a wonderful friend and made teaching a joy. I can only hope that I’m that cool when I’m in my late fifties.

It sometimes feels like the powers that be are conspiring to make my departure as hard as possible. Everyone is being so wonderful, the weather is fantastic… I think the best way to look at it is that I’m totally leaving on a high note. I’ve even been getting compliments and letters about my last Survival Guide. Crazy. 11 days to go…

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

