Posted by: Chelsea Novak | March 22, 2003

Of hangovers

If you read yesterday’s post, you saw that I planned to spend a good part of last night drinking. Friends and loved ones know that I’m not really much of a drinker. If I were (was. Sigh my grammar blows on a good day) a drinker I would know what to mix and what not to mix. 3 glasses of sekt, 2 glasses of baileys and a Metropolitan. “Stupid Chel. Real stupid.” I try to be wise and be kind to my body. The worst things I do to it is make it digest Salt and Vinegar chips and a lot of sugar. We’ve got a pretty good relationship going on. I feed it with healthy yummy food and it stays in good shape and gives me lots of energy. So last night when my alcohol headache came on after the second glass of sekt, I really should have listened.

“Chelsea! This is your body. I don’t like alcohol. I don’t like the taste and I don’t like what it’s doing to my organs. You know this, yet you’re drinking anyway. Don’t you know you’re poisioning me? I’m going to express my dissatisfaction with a pounding headache. Oh, I see. You’re going to try and silence me with 3 Advil chased with champange? You know you’re just one step away from becoming Liza Minelli with that crap.I’m going to mess with your appitite for the next 24 hours for that.”

Imagine me as Smegol… “I’m not listening!”

And my body was right. And today I hurt. It’s almost 5:30 and my head is still killing me. I did, however, manage to straighten Tania’s hair this morning with remarkable results and make French Toast for my guests. I tried watching Moulin Rouge (stopping it at chapter 33 to give it a happy ending — Kennedy or Willow was wrong) but that didn’t make me feel much better as my headache seemed to swell everytime I saw a glass of absinthe.

My current pain aside, the sleepover went very well. I discovered the joys of bright pink eyeshadow and black eyeliner, and the girls (short one Scotswoman because she had to take her kitten in to be fixed) and I rediscovered the joys of the Spice Girls. That was a fit of silliness to behold.

OK back to my pain.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

