Posted by: Chelsea Novak | March 16, 2003

“Control! Control! You must learn control.”

First off, technology is awsome. At about 10:30 last night I started smsing with my boyfriend who’s several thousands of kilometers away. Having landed safely, M sent me some brief details of his trip and some descriptions of his travels through NYC. “I’m totally riding through a hip-hop video.” Being able to send him text messages (as the New Worlders call them) makes me feel better about being alone. Not great, but much better.

Last night I had a chance to see if this make-up artist thing has some potential or if it’s a flight of fancy. Klara had Tania and I over for some dinner, sugar-free desert, non-sugar-free desert and a beauty bonanza. Not only did they both let me do their make-up, but Tania let me straighten her hair and give her a almost salon worthy blowout (would have been perfect witht the friz-ease I think). And I think I did a good job. It’s hard to tell when you’re doing things for friends, as they can’t really look at you and say “Well thanks, but that was crap.” However there are other clues to knowing if someone is truly happy with the look you’ve given them.

My first clue that Klara liked her glamorous look was that she danced a little when the looked at herself in the mirror. Tania seemed to like the cute and fresh look because she gasped in a good way when she saw herself. My final clue to the fact that they liked it was that the both made product lists — another two people I have converted to Lancome Flextencils. I think they both looked great, and I had so much fun doing it. So much so that I stay up past 2 a.m. to do it all (as many of you know I am no good at staying up late), and didn’t feel the slightest bit tired until I stopped. Granted I think Klara’s boyfriend Will was quite overhwhlemed to come home at 2 a.m. from a night out with his mates to see his kitchen overrun with cosmetics. He took it as well as any drunk man can, looking at all the stuff in disbelief and saying “Can I go to bed now?”

I need more practice and I need more products (I really do!) but I think I’m good at this. The only face I wasn’t happy with last night was mine. I decided to give myself a smoky eye look, getting back in touch with my wonderful MAC Marz eyeshadow (it’s a sultry shade of purple). However, as soon as I started putting dark make-up around my eyes, the inner-goth took over and there was dark eyeliner everywhere. At least I didn’t turn anyone else into a highschool flashback..

Another cool thing about last night was playing with Will’s daughter Anna, age 7. One of the few people I have been able to have a decent conversation with concerning the merits of Episode II. Anna was kind enough to tell me the destiny of 3 of my ex-boyfriends, and my current one (M: Looks that that comic thing is a good idea.). It seems that a couple of my exes will be marrying Anna’s cat Gromit. Doesn’t really come as a shock to me.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

