Posted by: Chelsea Novak | March 11, 2003

Best Headline Eve

For about 8 years I have been waiting to look at the morning news and see this headline: Drug can limit peanut allergy, easing fear. Okay, maybe not what I was dreaming of word for word, but you get the idea. This doesn’t mean that I’ll be able to eat “Reese’s Pieces” again (god I miss those… I think), but it does mean that I will no longer be dining in fear. Or that M won’t be able to scold me for forgetting to carry my Epipen with me everywhere I go (I’m much better than I used to be). Even better I’ll be able to kiss him after he eats Thai food.

I haven’t had to worry about the deaded nut so much in Prague, as peanut butter and peanut oil are expensive and unpopular. I’ve become very relaxed in my attitude towards dining. And I’m pretty luckly, I’ve never gone into anaphylactic shock. The worst have been rashes, vomiting and some very tight throated moments. Some people with peanut allergies have it much worse. Granted the allergie gives us all one cool superpower. We can smell and taste a peanut like you wouldn’t believe. I’m so paranoid about it that I even get a bit jumpy with sunflower oil.

One of the few things I’m not looking forward to about moving back to the new world is the proliference of peanuts. I end up taking really dumb risks because I don’t want to be trouble. It’s silly. Say I go to one of those “family” places where the bar has peanuts all over the floor. Instead of asking that we go somewhere else, I always sit there a little nervous. Dumb girl I know.

But this new drug could be the answer to my prayers. Sure, I won’t be able to eat a whole peanut, but I will be able to eat things that “may contain traces” or try a more exciting icec cream flavour. Unless you have the allergy, you really have no idea how pervasive peanuts can be and how much they limit your diet.

Now I just need the 10,000 USD a year to pay for the shots.

HRH

Leave a Reply

Categories

